

POLICE & FIRE COMMISSION Meeting Minutes

Special Meeting, Monday, March 29, 2021, 5:30 p.m.

Port Washington Police Dept. Community Room, 365 N. Wisconsin Street

- 1. ROLL CALL. Present members Chair Rick Nelson, Jennifer Clearwater, Jim Biever, Ed. Johnson, and Terry Tietyen, Fire Chief Mark Mitchell, and Fire Dept. Captain EMT-P Joseph DeBoer.
- 2. PUBLIC APPEARANCES, COMMENTS, AND CORRESPONDENCE. There were none.
- 3. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES. Motion to approve the minutes of the regular PFC meeting March 8, 2021 by J. Clearwater with a second by J. Biever. Motion carried on voice vote.
- 4. MOTION TO CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION: Motion by T. Tietyen with a second by J. Biever to convene in closed session pursuant to § 19.85(1)(c) of the Wisconsin Statutes for purposes of "considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility," to-wit: interview applicants for Firefighter/EMT-Paramedic positions.
- 5. ROLL CALL VOTE ON MOTION TO CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION. All members vote aye. Fire Chief M. Mitchell and Fire Captain J. DeBoer were requested to stay in the closed session.
- 6. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION. Motion by J. Biever second by J. Clearwater to reconvene in open session. Roll call vote all members vote Aye.
- 7. POSSIBLE ACTION ON ANY ITEM DISCUSSED IN CLOSED SESSION. Motion to offer fulltime Paramedic/Firefighter positions to Christopher Kueker and Jacob Evaska conditional upon passing background investigation, physical, and written exam. Discussion: Motion carried on voice vote.
- 8. OTHER BUSINESS AS PERMITTED BY LAW: REVIEW MEETING SCHEDULE AND CALENDAR MATTERS; REFERRALS TO FUTURE MEETINGS. Next regular PFC meeting April 12, 2021 6:00 P.M.
- 9. ADJOURNMENT. Motion to adjourn by E. Johnson second J. Clearwater, carried on voice vote. Chair Nelson adjourns meeting at 7:50 P.M.

Respectfully submitted Terry Tietyen, Secretary

PFC Commissioners: Chair Richard Nelson, Terry Tietyen, Jennifer Clearwater, James Biever, Edward Johnson